Gail Martin

Certified Professional Resume Writer (CPRW) and ATS Compliance Certified (ATSCC), BS, Member of Professional Association of Resume Writers (PARW), National Resume Writers' Association (NRWA), and Career Directors International (CDI)

Gail Martin

How many years of experience do you have as a resume writer? I've been writing resumes for 12 years (since January 2009).

How many years of experience do you have in recruiting, HR, or making hiring decisions (interviewing, screening, hiring)? I have 6 years of recruiting experience as a systems analyst for Paramount Pictures. Part of my job was to source, interview, and select all members of the IT team for international TV sales (shows and movies), including the project manager (whom I reported to).

What certifications do you hold? I currently have CPRW and ATSCC (ATS Compliance Certification) with more to come.

Degrees? I have a bachelor of science in information systems from Roosevelt University in Chicago.

Have you won any awards? I’ve been too busy writing resumes to enter any contests. But 95% of my business is referrals from past clients who are pleased with the results. I consider that the best accolade.

Have you been published in any career-related books, news articles, or self-published? I’ve written online content and marketing material for my own business as well as other small businesses.

Any additional accolades worth noting? Other than starting and running my own resume writing company that's been in existence since 2014, I write 150 to 200+ resumes per year with a high success rate and many referrals.

What’s your favorite career tip or piece of career advice you wish every job seeker knew? Job search: Diversify your job search with a special emphasis on networking (virtual and traditional).

What do you like to do when you’re not writing resumes and working with job seekers? I love interior design/architecture! So, I can browse books and images on that subject for hours. I also love French culture and have been studying the language for 11 years. I enjoy reading books that teach me more about my career, life, or my faith. When I feel like vegging out, I watch a good movie or listen to music (80s, 90s, or top-40 French).

Interested in working with our team on your resume?